The Ascent of Everest (boxed set)

The Ascent of Everest (boxed set)


A handsome boxed set full of intrigues and laughter!

SKU: 9781922768278 Categories: , Product ID: 7566


Of the nine novels featuring Grafton Everest, four have been written by Ross Fitzgerald in collaboration with Ian McFadyen: Going Out Backwards, The Dizzying Heights, The Lowest Depths and Pandemonium. This unique series of four satirical novels charts the rise of the insecure and self-indulgent university lecturer – Doctor Professor Grafton Everest – from the corridors of a provincial Australian campus to the international corridors of power. How did this hapless, work-shy, anti-hero repeatedly save his country and the world without intending to? And who were the mysterious persons that orchestrated his inexplicable rise from obscurity to world leadership? The Ascent of Everest is an epic satire that mocks, without mercy, politics, academia, media, culture and sex.

‘Pandemonium is a work of comic brilliance, a perfect consummation of the uproarious Grafton Everest series’ – Nigel Marsh, author of Smart, Stupid & Sixty

Read Phil Browne’s perceptive piece in In Review: ‘The #MeToo predictor: How Grafton Everest is always one step ahead’

About the authors:
Ross Fitzgerald AM is Emeritus Professor of History & Politics at Griffith University. He is the author or co-author of forty-five books, including a memoir Fifty Years Sober: An Alcoholic’s Journey. He lives in Redfern, Sydney.

Ian McFadyen is a multi-award winning writer, actor and television producer who has created a number of successful television series, books and plays. He has collaborated with Ross Fitzgerald to write the previous Grafton Everest novels, Going Out Backwards, The Dizzying Heights, and The Lowest Depths. He lives in Queensland.

You may also like…

Phone:+61 3 9504 3462
Fax: N/A
P.O. BOX 52, Ormond
Victoria, 3204 Australia