SKU: 9781925000252 Category: Product ID: 2907


A new collection of love poems, based on each note of the keyboard.
Aficionados of music will be familiar with Mozart’s tragic intensity in D Minor, G Minor and E Flat Major, Beethoven’s sublime grandeur in D Minor and C Minor and Chopin’s virtuosic melancholy in A Flat Major, G Flat Major and F and G Minor. Arguably, these and other composers had these and other preferences for one very good reason: the sound and colour of the tuning of the keys matched the type and mood of the compositions written in them.

In place of the distinctive and audible key characteristics of the well-tempered tunings, Aslanides has applied his experience of love to each of the twenty four keys in twenty-four poems. The key sequence for these poems, all written in 2008 and given their final polish in May, 2013, follows the key sequence of each of the two books that make up J.S. Bach’s 48. Each poem consists of six quatrains of loosely-sprung elegiac couplets.
Timoshenko Aslanides’ first book of poems, The Greek Connection, won him the British Commonwealth Poetry Prize 1978 for the best first book of poems in English, published the previous year in the British Commonwealth of Nations.

Additional information


Timoshenko Aslanides



Shipping Cost:

$6.50 within Australia

Phone:+61 3 9504 3462
Fax: N/A
P.O. BOX 52, Ormond
Victoria, 3204 Australia